Wholebodyhealing44

Health & Wellness through Joy & Awareness

GF Bread

Leave a comment

GlutenFree1

GlutenFree2

This recipe is amazing..instead of buying your gluten-free bread for over $5 a loaf you can make it. I say scratch is always better because you know exactly what is in it. I find tweaking recipes is one of my favorite things to do. This bread comes out light and airy. Kind of like Italian bread without the gluten. I wish I could say this recipe is mine but it is not. My sister Theresa sent it to me along with pictures of how it turned out…WOW…all I can say is AMAZING! And the amazing creator is Kim…I have put her Blog addy in at the bottom so that you can visit her and see all of the wonderful recipes she has to offer:)
Now for the awesome recipe:

Kim’s GF DF Whole Grain Bread ~ Simplified Version

1 1/3 cup water (heated*** – see note)
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup honey
3 lightly beaten eggs
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 cup teff flour – ivory or dark (May also use brown rice flour, quinoa, buckwheat, amaranth, millet)
1 cup sorghum flour (May also use 1 cup of millet, buckwheat, quinoa, amaranth)
1 cup potato starch
1 slightly heaping T xanthan gum
2 1/4 tsp – 1 T dry active yeast (Start with smallest amount and if you didn’t get the rise you wanted try more next time)
2 T ground flax seeds

sesame seeds and flax seeds for top
From Kim:
The directions are the same as in my original recipe. I don’t always take the time to sift but you get a better blended loaf if you do. I also add a few more flax seeds and sesame seeds to the top of the batter after I pull the paddle out of the bread maker just to make it prettier although I didn’t do that in the loaf shown. I am also told that this bread can be done with egg re-placer if you are allergic to eggs. It can also be done completely rice free or not depending on what you want. The recipe is really flexible. Try this. Eat and be happy!
*** Most bread recipes tell you to heat your liquid to body temperature for the benefit of the yeast. If you do that you also have to make sure the rest of your ingredients are room temperature. I hear of other gf cooks waiting around for their eggs etc to come to room temp before baking. When I make this bread I do it in approximately 5 minutes, start to finish. So I heat my water until it’s really hot but not boiling (1.5 minutes in the microwave). I use eggs right out of the fridge combined with the rest of the wet ingredients and add the water. I have never had a problem with this method. By the time the yeast actually comes in contact with the liquids everything is the right temperature. The possibility of scrambling your eggs does exist though if your water is too hot.

My sister Theresa got this recipe from http://gfrealfood.com/2009/06/10/kims-gluten-free-dairy-free-whole-grain-bread/
Thank you Kim 🙂
Tweaking is the key. Add some garlic or onions or whatever spice you might be partial to..I just love curry 🙂
Until next time…
Love, Peace and Health!
Roxanne

Author: wholebodyhealing44

My interests include: Everything I can find out about nutrition, whole foods and how they heal the body, Reiki Healing Energy, Crystals; what they are and how they work. As of 12/2013 I have completed the Health Coach course through the Institute of Integrative Nutrition. I am now a board certified Health Coach through AADP. This I am very excited about. To be a Health Coach and help others change their lives for the better...My dream :) I have also completed a Vegetarian nutrition course so that I have an idea of what is needed for a fully rounded Vegetarian diet and by diet I mean a healthy way of eating or a lifestyle. Cooking is also a passion of my...along with shopping for healthy foods and Organic Produce! I have created a Rose Petal Tincture that is utterly amazing! You can visit my website at www.roxannecummins.com

Leave a Reply

