Wholebodyhealing44

Health & Wellness through Joy & Awareness

Favorite Vegetable Soup :)

Leave a comment

I will definitely insert a picture soon! Warm soup is such a hearty, wonderful comfort food especially during the cold winter months, however this soup is also good cold…I love it this way in the warmer months. I do think it is a matter of taste and choice. For me I love this soup warm or cold. This recipe is not only delicious and filling, it is also nutritious, and we all know that nutrition is a very important part of everyone’s diet. Here I have to stop for a moment and explain the word DIET as I use it. In my Blog diet means a way of life..an eating style that is healthy, nutritious and filling. Not a strict way of eating that leaves you hungry, miserable and wanting to binge! I will be posting a variety of recipes that you can tweak to fit your life style and taste. I would like to share one of my favorite recipes that was introduced to me by my sister Cindy while visiting her in NH. At that time I devoured many many bowls of this delicious soup and brought the recipe home with me. I wish I could say that this Soup was my idea but it is Cindy’s creative genius that developed it…I usually make this soup up in a big stock pot and freeze all but 2 servings (that I gobble up within a day) in glass jars for future (very close future) meals. It freezes well and tastes just as good if not better when it’s thawed!
I use as much organic as possible. I really don’t measure my veggies out but will approximate what I use…..

“Favorite” Vegetable Soup

3 large carrots cubed (I use my chopper large cubes)
2 stalks celery diced
1 large onion diced
1 small red bell pepper diced
1/2 small head of green cabbage (chopped or you can use 1/2 to 3/4 bag of coleslaw mix)
4 large handfuls of baby spinach
16 oz of your favorite mushrooms sliced
4 cups of vegetable stock
2 medium tomatoes diced
2 Tablespoons of jalapenos chopped (you can substitute a can of diced chile tomatoes for the above two ingredients)
1 can of stewed tomatoes
2 minced garlic cloves or 2 to 3 cubes Dorots frozen chopped garlic
2 teaspoons dried Basil or 2 to 3 cubes Dorots frozen chopped basil
2 tablespoons Herbes de Provence
Several grinds of black pepper
1 teaspoon Himalayan or Celtic Sea Salt
1 Tablespoon Olive, Coconut or oil of your choice

Dice onions, celery and red bell peppers
Chop carrots
Slice mushrooms and cabbage

Add oil to stock pot and heat. Saute onions, celery, carrots, mushrooms and red bell peppers over low heat for about 8 minutes. Add broth, cabbage, spinach all tomatoes, garlic, basil, Herbs de Provence, salt and pepper. Be a little wild and crazy add a big pinch or two of cayenne! Bring everything to a boil and then turn it down to simmer for 20 to 30 minutes and voila you have a wonderful delicious nutritious meal. I hope you will try this soup and enjoy it as much as I do.
Until next time…
Love, Peace and Health!
Roxanne

Author: wholebodyhealing44

My interests include: Everything I can find out about nutrition, whole foods and how they heal the body, Reiki Healing Energy, Crystals; what they are and how they work. As of 12/2013 I have completed the Health Coach course through the Institute of Integrative Nutrition. I am now a board certified Health Coach through AADP. This I am very excited about. To be a Health Coach and help others change their lives for the better...My dream :) I have also completed a Vegetarian nutrition course so that I have an idea of what is needed for a fully rounded Vegetarian diet and by diet I mean a healthy way of eating or a lifestyle. Cooking is also a passion of my...along with shopping for healthy foods and Organic Produce! I have created a Rose Petal Tincture that is utterly amazing! You can visit my website at www.roxannecummins.com

Leave a Reply

