Wholebodyhealing44

Health & Wellness through Joy & Awareness

Adzuki Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers

2 Comments

AdzukiBB2

I have been experimenting with Adzuki beans recently, trying to make my own Veggie burgers instead of buying the frozen packaged ones. The first batch I made tasted awesome, however, they turned into a flat mass in my fry pan. Tonight I did it! They came out amazing and kept their shape! This recipe can be easily transitioned to Vegan simply by leaving out the cheese.

Ingredients:
2 cups cooked adzuki beans cooled
1/2 cup boiled, mashed and cooled sweet potatoes or yams
1 cup sautéed sliced Mushrooms-cooled (about 2 cups raw will cook down to
1 cup)
1 medium onion diced
4 oz. organic cheddar cheese shredded
1 tsp. curry powder
1/2 tsp. granulated garlic
1 tsp. horseradish
4 turns of black pepper
4 shakes sea salt
3/4 cup homemade Ezekiel bread crumbs (***easy to make directions listed below )
3/4 cup **brown rice flour
** you can substitute any type of gluten free or regular flour.

Directions:
Mix adzuki beans, sweet potatoes, curry, garlic, horseradish, black pepper and salt together. Once well mixed (I used a fork to start with and then dug in with my hands!) add onions and cheese and mix. Last add the bread crumbs and flour and mix with hands. Once everything is well mixed form into burgers. This recipe makes 9 burgers medium to large in size. They freeze very well and I usually fry half and freeze the rest.
***For Ezekiel bread crumbs I just put the crusts that I have saved from 4 loaves of bread onto a cookie sheet and put in the oven @ 200 degrees for about 2 hours. Then I put them into my Blendtech for about 30 to 40 seconds and voila homemade organic sprouted breadcrumbs!!
Until next time…
Peace, Love and Health…
Roxanne

Author: wholebodyhealing44

My interests include: Everything I can find out about nutrition, whole foods and how they heal the body, Reiki Healing Energy, Crystals; what they are and how they work. As of 12/2013 I have completed the Health Coach course through the Institute of Integrative Nutrition. I am now a board certified Health Coach through AADP. This I am very excited about. To be a Health Coach and help others change their lives for the better...My dream :) I have also completed a Vegetarian nutrition course so that I have an idea of what is needed for a fully rounded Vegetarian diet and by diet I mean a healthy way of eating or a lifestyle. Cooking is also a passion of my...along with shopping for healthy foods and Organic Produce! I have created a Rose Petal Tincture that is utterly amazing! You can visit my website at www.roxannecummins.com

2 thoughts on “Adzuki Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers

  1. Love this recipe! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Thank you Annie! Hope you try them as they are delicious!!

Leave a Reply

